Ebb Foundation 12th Annual Award Winners

2016 Recipients Curtis Moore (left) and Thomas Mizer (right) attend the twelfth annual Fred Ebb Award for Musical Theatre Songwriting in the Penthouse Lounge at The American Airlines Theatre in New York City on November 28, 2016. Photo by Henry McGee

Curtis Moore and Thomas Mizer are a music theatre writing team whose romantic mystery Triangle was originally commissioned by the Williamstown Theater Festival and premiered in 2015 at TheatreWorks Silicon Valley. Their other stage collaborations include The Legend of Stagecoach Mary (NAMT Festival of New Musicals), The Bus to Buenos Aires (Ensemble Studio Theatre) and, with collaborators Amanda Green and Matthew Brookshire, For the Love of Tiffany (New York Fringe Festival).

Among those who participated in the selection panel for this year’s Ebb Award were lyricist Sheldon Harnick, actress Andrea Burns, and playwright Tim Pinckney. Established in the memory of Broadway lyricist Fred Ebb, one half of the Kander & Ebb duo (Curtains, Chicago), the award has previously been awarded to such songwriters and songwriting teams as Sam Wilmott, Michael Kooman & Christopher Diamond, and Jeff Blumenkrantz.

More information »